Sports Ministry inaugurates four committees

The Ministry of Youth and Sports (MOYS) has inaugurated four committees to promote, develop and organise sports in the country.

The four committees are; Ghana 2023 Project Team, National Sports Policy Review Committee, International Games & Competitions Committee and the Local Organising Committee (LOC) for the International Table Tennis Federation/African Table Tenis Federation (ITTF/ATTF).

The Minister of Youth and Sports, Isaac Kwame Asiamah who inaugurated the committees said he was confident that the committees would fulfil their assignment because they were selected through a rigorous process.

The minister charged the nine-member National Sports Policy Review Committee (NSPRC) chaired by the Deputy Minister of Youth and Sports, Perry Curtis Okudzeto to review all existing sports policies, engage stakeholders and produce a policy document which will govern the development of sports in Ghana.

Other members of the NSPRC are; Magnus RexDanquah (a sports business consultant), Dr Emmanuel Owusu-Ansah (Technical Advisor of the MOYS), Ms Vivian Boublor (the Deputy Chief Sports Development Officer of the National Sports Authority), Mr Eric Dwamena (Director, National Sports College), Dr Julius Aikins-Hawkson (Director, GIMPA COnsultancy and Innovation), Dr Patrick Ofori (a sports psychologist), Mr Solomon Tetteh (secretary of the committee) and Mr Ahmed Osumanu Halid.

Mr Okudzeto doubles as the chairman of the seven-member Ghana 2023 Project Team committee which the Minister challenged to ensure that the 2023 All African Games to be hosted in Accra, Ghana will be a success.

Mr Okudzeto assured the Minister that all the committees would ensure that Ghana reclaims its lost glory in all sporting disciplines.

Other members of the committee are Barbara Asher Ayisi (MP & Deputy Minister of Works and Housing), Professor Peter Twumasi (Director-General NSA), Mr Ben Nunoo-Mensah (President of the Ghana Olympic Committee), Dr Emmanuel Owusu-Ansah (Technical Advisor MOYS), Mr Magnus RexDanquah (Sports Business Consultant) and Dr Beatrice Dwumfour Williams (Board Member of the NSA).

The 10-member International Games & Competitions Committee tasked with ensuring the adequate preparation of Ghanaian teams for international competitions has the Director General of the NSA, Professor Peter Twumasi as its chair with Mr Emmanuel Oteng (Chief Accountant, MOYS) and Mr Yaw E. Kutor (Director, MOYS) as members.

The rest are Dr Emmanuel Owusu Ansah, Mr Magnus RexDanquah, Mr Ben Nunoo-Mensah, Reverend Richmond Quarcoo (Chef du Mission GOC), Mr Richard Akpokavie (GOC General Secretary), Mr Salifu Omar (Accountant, NSA) and Mr George Owusu Anasah.

Prof Twumasi also chairs the 10-member Local Organising Committee for the ITTF/ATTF Championship which has been tasked to use the competition to revive the interest of Ghanaians in table tennis. The competition gets underway on Monday, April 1 at the Accra Sports Stadium.

Also on the committee are the President of the Ghana Table Tennis Federation, Mr Mawuko Afadzinu, Mr Ken Ashigbey, Madam Oforiwaa Owusu Agyei, Dr Emmanuel Owusu-Ansah, Mr Magnus RexDanquah, Anthony Owusu Ansah (National Chief Coach, Table Tennis), Madam Clarence Amoateng, Mr Samuel Aryee and Mr Jason Onyame.


Source: Graphic Sports

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *