President Akufo-Addo nominates 3-lady judges for Supreme Court

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has nominated three lady judges – Justices Mariama Owusu, Gertrude Torkornoo and Avril Lovelace Johnson, all of the Court of Appeal – for the Supreme Court, subject to Parliamentary approval.

The Speaker of Parliament, Professor Aaron Mike Oquaye, announced the nominations in Parliament on Tuesday [November 12, 2019].

If approved by Parliament, the three Justices will be replacing Chief Justice Sophia Akuffo who retires in December, and Justice Vida Akoto-Bamfo and Justice Sophia Adinyira who have both retired.






Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *