Life StyleNews

NPP to field 24 women in 2020 parliamentary polls

Twelve of the 35 women who contested the New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) parliamentary primaries last Saturday, won their bid to represent the party in the December 7 polls.

Of the 47 women who filed to contest, 12 went unopposed. The victory of the additional 12 brings the total of women to represent the NPP in the parliamentary polls to 24.

The 24 women will represent 8.7 per cent of the 275 candidates the party will be fielding for the parliamentary contest in December.

In the current Parliament, there are 23 women MPs from the NPP side.

Three incumbent female MPs who lost their seats are Ms Joyce A.A. Dei, Bosome-Freho; Ms Mercy Adu-Gyamfi (Ama Sey), Akwatia and Nana Akua Owusu Afriyie, Ablekuma North.

Some other females who tried unseating some sitting male MPs also lost their bid.

They include Ms Faustina Araba Boakye, Akrofuom; Ms Abena Pokua Amoah-Boaitey, Ejisu; Ms Faustina Oppong Sarfo, Obuasi West and Ms Louise Carol Serwaa Donkor, Old Tafo, all in the Ashanti Region and in the Ayensuano Constituency, two females, Ms Ida Adjoa Asiedu and Ms Josephine Awuku Ansaa, both lost to the incumbent, Mr Samuel Ayeh-Paye.

In the Bono Region, Ms Tina Abrefa-Gyan lost her bid to be the candidate for Wenchi while Ms Jacqueline Boatemaa Bonsu was unsuccessful in her bid to represent Nkoranza North in the Bono East Region.

Incumbent winners

The rest, including the MPs for Dome-Kwabenya, Ms Sarah Adwoa Safo; the MP for Agona West, Mrs Cynthia Mamle Morrison; Ms Ama Pomaa Boateng, Juaben; Ms Abena Durowaa Mensah, Assin North; Ms Gifty Twum-Ampofo, Abuakwa North; Mrs Barbara Asher Ayisi, Cape Coast North and Nalerigu/Gambaga Constituency, Hajia Alima Mahama, won their contests with their male counterparts.

Unopposed incumbents

Among the incumbent female MPs who went unopposed are Mrs Ursula Owusu Ekuful, Ablekuma West; Madam Tina Gifty Naa Ayeley Mensah, Weija-Gbawe; Madam Nana Dokua Asiamah-Adjei, Akuapem North; Madam Abena Osei-Asare, Atiwa East; Madam Mavis Hawa Koomson, Awutu Senya East; Madam Naana Eyiah, Gomoa Central and Ms Freda Prempeh, Tano North.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *