Life StyleNews

Bernard Mornah loses PNC chairmanship; Apasera elected flagbearer

Moses Dani Baah has dethroned Bernard Mornah as the National Chairman of the Peoples National Convention (PNC).

For the flagbearship slot of the PNC, David Apasera has beaten Rev Samuel Adjei-Debrah and Sampson Asaki Awingobit.

The PNC held its congress Wednesday [September 30, 2020] to elect its flag bearer for the 2020 presidential election and national executive officers to steer the affairs of the party for the next four years.

Graphic Online’s reporter, Joshua Koomson who was covered the congress and was there when the results were collated Wednesday night reported that, for the flag bearer slot, David Apasera won overwhelmingly with 1315 votes as against Samson Awingobit’s 789 votes and Rev Samuel Adjei-Debrah’s 465.

For the National Chairman slot, Bernard Mornah got 1266 votes as against Moses Dani Baah’s 1297 votes.

Janet Asana Nabla emerged as the General Secretary for the PNC with 1312 votes as against that of Kobe McDonald’s 230 votes and that of Emmanuel Wilson Jnr’s 1041 votes.

For the Vice Chairman slot, Henry Haruna Asante won with 1729 votes against that of Omar Ahmed Bekure’s 635, Eugene T.K. Bashiru’s 375 and Hajia Hajara Musah Ali’s 946 votes. Abass Nuhu was elected as the National Organiser with 1124 votes.

His competitors Ntow Desmond Twumasi and Daniel Nii Noi got 773 and 639 votes respectively. Hidaya Sungjun was elected as the Women’s Organiser with 1249 votes as against that of Esther Osei Danso’s 736 votes, Adam Johnson Patience Lamisi’s 317 and Hummi Sinare’s 236 votes. Before the voting, Bernard Mornah urged the delegates to elect individuals with character and dignity.

With the landslide victory against other two contenders, Mr Apasera, an experienced man, having represented the people of Bolgatanga Constituency in Parliament for three successive terms (2000, 2004, and 2008) in his victory address promised to bring back life into the PNC which, he said over the years has suffered some set backs.





Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *